The Collaborative

OPADD is a partnership forged between the developmental and the continuum of seniors supports and services. Each sector holds part of the answer to the question of how to support quality of life for older adults with a developmental disability. OPADD has learned that the combined knowledge and experience of the two partners contributes to more powerful solutions.

OPADD task groups and committees are formed with representation from both sectors and co-chaired by a representative from each of the continuum of seniors supports and services and developmental services. This model contributes to innovative ideas and models built on the strengths of the partners.

OPADD does not have a formal membership or structure. OPADD has always encouraged innovation “on the ground” and its projects have helped to develop and foster regional committees. Some committees were active for the duration of a project and have since disbanded; while others continued and others are just beginning. The Chairs/Co-Chairs of the regional committees connect (usually by conference call or teleconference) about twice yearly to share information. This is an opportunity to discuss on-going projects and systemic issues, which are brought forward to the leadership of OPADD.

Leadership of OPADD is vested through a group called the Collaborative. It consists of representatives from: Ministry of Community and Social Services (MCSS), Ministry of Health and Long Term Care (MOH-LTC), Ontario Agencies Supporting Individuals with Special Needs (OASIS), Ontario Non-Profit Homes and Services for Seniors (OANHSS), Ontario Long Term Care Association (OLTCA), Ontario Seniors Secretariat, Ontario Community Support Association (OCSA), and Reena. Systemic issues from the regions are brought to this group to discuss and to clarify possible actions within policy or legislative frameworks.

The members of the Collaborative are:

Donna Britten,

Ontario Agencies Supporting Individuals with Special Needs

Nancy Cooper,

Ontario Long-Term Care Association

Alan Ernst,

Ontario Seniors’ Secretariat

Rachel Ortiz,

Ministry of Community and Social Services

Georgina White,

Ontario Association of Community Care Access Centres

Sandy Stemp,


Bryan Keshen,


David Hughes,

Ontario Community Support Association

Kathryn Pilkington,

Ontraio Association of Non-Profit Homes & Services For Seniors

Elizabeth Esteves,

Ontario Seniors’ Secretariat

Suzanne Rowe Knight,

Ministry of Community and Social Services

Jennifer Scott,

Central Community Care Access Centre

Connie Berg,

Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care